What is HHS?

HHS stands for the United States Department of Health and Human Services. This department oversees the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), and is a common term found in the Medicare industry.

The HHS is comprised of eleven operating divisions, including eight agencies, such as the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), National Institutes of Health (NIH), and Office of the Inspector General (OIG).

According to their website, “The mission of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is to enhance the health and well-being of all Americans, by providing for effective health and human services and by fostering sound, sustained advances in the sciences underlying medicine, public health, and social services.”

Find Independent Medicare Resources

Medicare can get confusing quickly, especially for first-timers. We are dedicated to simplifying the process so you can quickly find the answers you need. Our Licensed Insurance Agents are only a phone call away and can answer your questions and help you compare your options.

We’ve also created an array of resources to help you and your family navigate the complexities of Medicare. Check out our Medicare glossary to get familiar with common terms. Visit our blog to learn the latest news and insights. When you’re ready to start shopping, visit our online Plan Comparison tool to take the first step.

Find Affordable Medicare Plans in your Area

It's free and no obligation!

Subscribe To Our Newsletter